An Introductory Note on Thought Posts

So much has been heavy on my mind lately. From the Black Lives Matter movement, to the refugee crisis, to terrorist attacks, to our unreal presidential election, to pop culture drama (which I personally think isn’t always trivial, as it reflects our societal condition). Throw on top of that personal events that make me question what is truth and reality.

Screen Shot 2016-07-22 at 12.05.08 PM
check out metaphorical illustrations by SHOUT

How much should we let it affect us? How much should we play a role while still living in our own real lives?

I want to say something about it, but it’s hard for me to boil it down to a blog post or an Instagram picture. It either gets too long and too complicated, or it doesn’t do the full picture justice.

But I have been discussing it with people close to me, and I’ve written out some things that I figure I could start sharing. It doesn’t get anywhere close to the full picture, but it’s a start. So that’s my intro to what might be a series of random introspective blog posts.

A part of me is hesitant to reveal more seriousΒ thoughts in my mind, or to let my content get too somber. I still want to be able to share a random picture of a cute bunny drawing that has no further meaning, and not have that seem out of place or contradictory. But then… what’s really stopping me? Just my own self-projections.

I look to people I admire when I’m feeling stuck in this space. I think Dallas Clayton toes that meaningful-silly line well. As with Dr. Seuss, Roald Dahl, and Bill Watterson (Calvin & Hobbes), some of my heroes.

Screen Shot 2016-07-22 at 12.00.40 PM
via @dallasclayton on Instagram

I had written something recently about this, that there are things in life that will make you cry, and you can either drown in them or make waves with them. Dallas Clayton puts it slightly better πŸ™‚

If you really care about it, just do something about it.

-MC

 

One thought on “An Introductory Note on Thought Posts

Leave a Reply

