Inspiration: Current Book Reads

I want to share some books I’ve acquired recently that I find interesting and inspiring. I like a wide variety of topics and styles, and I think our personal styles are inevitably a unique combination of the things we care and think about.

IMG_5422

These books run the gamut of categories, from comic book art to movie art direction to accessible scientific illustrations. These are pretty representative of the types of things I’m into right now.

Here are the titles, authors/illustrators, and publishers of each of the books, along with a few interior shots that will hopefully pique your interest!

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Geek Art: An Anthology by Thomas Olivri, published by Chronicle Books
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Great compendium of various geek art artists. I appreciate the brief bios and each artist’s explanation of what geek art is to them. I especially resonate with the ones that view “geeks” as simply people who have retained a sense of wonder and enthusiasm we all have when we’re kids, a playful passion for shared pop culture phenomenons that connects us to other like minds, regardless of our backgrounds.
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
It ranges from very modern and graphic to very cute and playful, so you get a great range of styles to study.
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
I was a huge My Little Pony fan growing up, so couldn’t leave this out.
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
I’ll Be You and You Be Me by Ruth Krauss and Maurice Sendak, published by Harper Collins
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Maurice Sendak wrote and illustrated Where the Wild Things Are. He has a bunch of other lesser known books, some with other authors as with here. I love picture books like these that are at once sweet and irreverent, and disarmingly poignant. When you reread them as an adult, they are much richer in their simplicity.
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
A little poem. (J got me this and the Geek Art book as a surprise, and I just felt so understood for once, the feeling overwhelmed me. Lol geek love.)
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
The Little Prince: Art of the Movie by Ramin Zahed, published by Titan Books. I have many thoughts about this movie that I will save for another post.
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Love this concept art piece for its lighting and whimsical atmosphere
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
The best part of the art direction is definitely the Little Prince’s world (the movie is really a movie within a movie, I think it was deceptive to call it “The Little Prince”).
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
I adore this styling of the Little Prince characters. It was all stop motion, sculpted by hand. That craft always awes me. Side note: I can’t wait for Laika’s Kubo and the Two Strings this year!
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
The Where The Why and The How, by various artists and illustrators, published by Chronicle Books
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Great book concept combining my interests in illustration and the mind-blowing mysteries of science and nature. A lot of my favorite illustrators are in it, including Jon Klassen, Mattias Adolfsson, and Jen Corace.
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Just picked this up this little classic, Josef Albers’ Interaction of Color, published by Yale University Press.
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
I’ve been wanting to have a deeper and more thoughtful understanding of color theory and color perception, and this little volume is perfect for that.
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Finally, Batman: Hush by Joseph Loeb, Jim Lee and Scott Williams, published by DC Comics.
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
I can’t say I’ve ever been super into comics (manga for a little bit, yes), but I admire a lot of comic book artists, especially Jim Lee.
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
I saw this at Wonder Con and thought the art stood out from the other comics as being especially fantastic. I am studying the lines, color palettes, and story telling in this one.

 

Hope you liked something out of that, if not everything. I love books.

-MC

 

 

3 thoughts on “Inspiration: Current Book Reads

Leave a Reply

