Weekly Illo #5: June 8-14, 2015

No additional thoughts this week. I think I covered it. Ok one: glad I’m not the only person who thought “Game of Thrones” while watching Dellavedova in Game 2. haha

 

Not gonna lie, pretty proud of my Feel Sick Flat Lay 😛

J & I don’t take well to scary movies. But if you do, definitely check out Crush the Skull!

SHORTCUT/TIP OF THE WEEK

Curated newsletters! Sometimes it’s hard to keep up with the news as much as you’d like to. I find daily/weekly digest emails to be great for quick blurbs on global news, design trends and mindful thinking. You know that friend with more time than you have who reads all the articles and can tell you a quick summary of the best ones? Kind of like that. Even more helpful if they explain of-the-moment acronyms like AYFKMWTS.

Here are my picks right now, always open to hearing about better ones:

News: Skimm (A little bit on the sassy edge, but on the scales of “keeps things interesting” vs “comes off as reality tv character” I would give it the former. I think I learned about it through FastCo, to give you a sense of audience)

Design trends: ONE Design Weekly (T lot of agencies put out newsletters but so far this is the one that has stuck with me. And introduced me to Dallas Clayton‘s Instagram!!!)

Mindful Thinking: Brain Pickings (The curator also somehow often talk about children’s books, which I love, so I feel like this newsletter was made for me)

I feel any more than three kind of starts defeating the purpose, as you won’t have time to read your shortcut newsletters… 🙂

– MC

One thought on “Weekly Illo #5: June 8-14, 2015

  1. UUUUURGH WHY IS YOUR HANDWRITING AND LETTERING AND SKETCHING AND DOODLING ALL WAY BETTER THAN MY WORK THAT I SPEND HOURS ON
    don’t worry i’m not mad just mildly (that’s one way to put it) jealous

    Like

Leave a Reply

