Calvin & Hobbes’ Bill Watterson’s New Strip

I always list Calvin & Hobbes as one of my favorite books. I know it’s a strip, but I read it in collections and it had as much depth and insight as any good book I’ve read. Today’s news that the infamously reclusive Bill Watterson quietly made a new strip for a French comics festival reminded me just how talented of a storyteller he is:

I have many favorite Calvin and Hobbes strips, and maybe one day I’ll do a separate blog post on that. For now, I just wanted to share the last strip, which you have probably seen before:

 

 

I love that blissful yet slightly tear-jerking feeling the last board leaves you with…

I think the subconscious influence of this comic on me is pretty obvious 🙂 I haven’t looked at this strip in years but it encompasses a lot of themes I still believe in. To live in wonder, to see the magic in this world, to always be exploring. His use of deceivingly playful metaphors, simple illustrations, and smart dialogue conveyed sincere emotions and deep thoughts in a way that I can only dream to remotely emulate…

-MC

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Calvin & Hobbes’ Bill Watterson’s New Strip

Leave a Reply

